Perks of the Job!

No automatic alt text available.

One of the most awesome things about working as  a substitute teacher, at least to me anyway, is if you are working in Pre K or Kindergarten you get to watch TV!

Like, really fun TV cartoons like Cat in the Hat and Curious George!

So, by way of explanation, here’s why, lest you think I just goof off and stick the kids in front of a TV all day : when they eat breakfast in the morning (in the classroom) or when they have an indoor recess due to weather OR just to kill time because maybe we got done with the work early that day.

Either way it’s a great added perk to the job and it occupies the kids very well!

 

No automatic alt text available.

 

More specifically to my week last week and this week is that I had the pleasure of working in the younger grades and, let’s face it, they just tend to behave better.  I think the reason for that is because they are still young enough to not be jaded and still have a desire for compliance with the teacher’s request.

And even more exciting to me was that I was able to work in a bilingual classroom.  Now, my language skills are rusty.  Very rusty.  But I still love to be able to practice and it helps to have a native English speaker who is able to communicate in another language, even if my skills are basic.  It’s still more than a lot of others can do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Perks of the Job!

  1. I agree about younger students. I sub 2nd grade thru high school in NC. Big changes over those years in behavior.

    Like

Leave a comment